Our Story

Terry Virgo – Founder of Newfrontiers
Sue & Neville Jones

In the 1970s, Pastor Terry Virgo began travelling to various churches and house groups in the south of England to seek the presence of God together. These visits quickly developed into organised gatherings, Bible weeks, and conferences, as well as a cassette service with talks and music. The Newfrontiers movement was born!

In the following decades, its influence and reach expanded beyond the UK to other countries. New churches were planted and missionaries were sent out into the world. In 2011, Newfrontiers had grown to over 800 churches in 70 different nations. The movement was redefined as a network with 15 different “spheres” worldwide.

Around the same time God gave a new vision for church planting in large cities to Emmanuel Church in Brighton. Healthy churches multiply! In 2014 Neville and Sue Jones moved from Brighton to Berlin and started Mosaik, a young, dynamic church in the center of Germany’s capital.

In the following years, the church plant became a community of people who seek to encounter and follow Jesus in an authentic and uncomplicated way. Mosaik is a church in and for Berlin, where people can grow, heal, and flourish together. We are also part of an international family of churches – our mother church is in Brighton and our sister churches are in London, Belfast, Bath, Amsterdam, Ottawa and Krakow.

Der Pastor Terry Virgo beginnt in 1970er Jahren im Süden Englands gleichgesinnte Gemeinden und Hauskreise zu besuchen, um gemeinsam Gottes Gegenwart zu suchen. Aus den Begegnungen wurden schnell organisierte Treffen, Bibelwochen und Konferenzen, sowie ein Kassettendienst mit Vorträgen und Musik. Die Newfrontiers-Bewegung war geboren!

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten erweiterte sich der Wirkungskreis über Großbritannien hinaus auch in andere Länder. Neue Gemeinden wurden gegründet und Missionare in die Welt gesandt. Im Jahr 2011 zählten sich über 800 Gemeinden in 70 verschiedenen Nationen zu Newfrontiers. Aus der Bewegung wurde nun ein Netzwerk gegründet mit 15 verschiedenen “Spheres”.

Etwa zur gleichen Zeit begann Gott der Emmanuel Church in Brighton eine neue Vision für Gemeindegründung in großen Städten zu geben. Gesunde Gemeinden multiplizieren sich! 2014 kamen Neville und Sue Jones von Brighton nach Berlin und gründeten Mosaik, eine junge, dynamische Gemeinde mitten in der Hauptstadt.

In den folgenden Jahren hat sich hier eine Gruppe an Menschen zusammengefunden, die Jesus auf authentische und unkomplizierte Art und Weise begegnen und nachfolgen wollen. Wir sind eine Gemeinde in und für Berlin, in der Menschen wachsen, heilen und aufblühen können. Darüber hinaus sind wir Teil einer internationalen Gemeindefamilie – unsere Muttergemeinde ist in Brighton und unsere Schwestergemeinden sind in London, Belfast, Bath, Amsterdam, Ottawa und Krakau.